Château de Bourdeau

Annecy

In Annecy, it is not only the lake and the scenery that are remarkable! The old town, nicknamed the Little Venice of the Alps, is home to some superb buildings. For those in a hurry, you cannot pass by the Palais de l’Isle, the –château-museum or the streets with arcades, according to Denis Fogola, a guide with the Annecy town community, a member of the network of Towns and countries of art and history.

The Palais de l’Isle (Island Palace)

Built on a naturally rocky island, this building shaped like a boat, surrounded by the waters of the Thiou, is the emblem of the old town of Annecy. It features amongst the most photographed monuments in France. Its oldest parts date from the 12th century. The building has successively been a prison, the mint for the Counts of Geneva, a court of law, an asylum … Since 2005, the Centre for interpretation of architecture and heritage has occupied this listed structure.  Inside, the permanent exhibition enables the visitor to learn about the town and its heritage, both ancient and contemporary.

The château-museum

From the Sainte-Claire gate, the Saint-Maurice slope will take you to the  Annecy museum-château. . Built on a rocky outcrop, the site offers an overhead view over the historic town centre, revealing the beautiful unity of its rooftops, the bucolic le Thiou canal and its quays, and, as a backdrop, the les Bornes massif. This former home of the Counts of Geneva and the Dukes of Savoie houses the town’s regional museum of contemporary arts which includes some very fine collections. The Tower and the Perrière home house the Alpine Lakes Regional Observatory, a place where is science is popularised and its profile raised and is filled with information for the whole family.

The rue Sainte-Claire

A stone’s throw from the Palais de l’Isle is the rue Sainte-Claire, the most typical of the streets in the old town. Lined with arcades, it is a model of Renaissance town planning. It has maintained is intense commercial activity. Nearby on the other side of the Thiou, on the rue Jean-Jacques Rousseau stands the Saint-Pierre Cathedral, where the author of les Confessions took his first steps as a musician. It was also here that his meeting with Madame de Warens took place and which is immortalised by the famous fontaine du Balustre d’or, at number 10 in the street.

Source : Savoie Mont Blanc

Informations

Le restaurant sera fermé à partir du 15 octobre pour travaux.
Réouverture prévue au printemps 2021

Château de Bourdeau

Annecy

A Annecy, il n’y a pas que le lac et le paysage qui soient remarquables ! La vieille ville, surnommée la petite Venise des Alpes, abrite de superbes bâtiments. Pour les plus pressés, impossible de passer à côté du Palais de l’Isle, du musée-château et des rues à arcades, selon Denis Fogola, guide-conférencier à la Communauté de l’agglomération d’Annecy, membre du réseau Villes et Pays d’art et d’histoire.

Le palais de l’Isle

Construit sur une île rocheuse naturelle, ce bâtiment en forme de vaisseau, cerné par les eaux du Thiou, est l’emblème de la vieille ville d’Annecy. Il figure parmi les monuments les plus photographiés de France. Ses parties les plus anciennes datent du XIIe siècle. L’édifice a été successivement une prison, l’atelier monétaire des comtes de Genève, un palais de justice, un asile… Depuis 2005, le Centre d’interprétation de l’architecture et du patrimoine a investi ce bâtiment classé.  A l’intérieur, l’exposition permanente permet d’appréhender la ville et son patrimoine, aussi bien ancien que contemporain.

Le musée-château

Depuis la porte Sainte-Claire, en empruntant la côte Saint-Maurice, on accède au musée-château d’Annecy. Erigé sur un épéron rocheux, le site offre une vue plongeante sur le centre historique de la ville, révélant la belle unité de ses toitures, le bucolique canal du Thiou et ses quais, et, en toile de fond, le massif des Bornes. Cette ancienne résidence des comtes de Genève et des ducs de Savoie sert d’écrin au musée d’art contemporain et d’art régional de la ville qui abrite de très belles collections. La Tour et le logis Perrière abritent l’Observatoire régional des lacs alpins, lieu de vulgarisation scientifique et de sensibilisation, regorgeant d’informations pour toute la famille.

La rue Sainte-Claire

A deux pas du Palais de l’Isle, la rue Sainte-Claire est la plus typique des rues de la vieille ville. Jalonnée d’arcades, elle est un modèle de l’urbanisation de laRenaissance. Elle a conservé son activité commerciale intense. A proximité, de l’autre côté du Thiou, la rue Jean-Jacques Rousseau où se dresse la cathédrale Saint-Pierre. L’auteur des Confessions y a fait ses premiers pas de musiciens. C’est aussi là que sa rencontre avec Madame de Warens a eu lieu et qui est immortalisée à travers la fameuse fontaine du Balustre d’or, au numéro 10 de la rue.

Source : http://www.savoie-mont-blanc.com/Decouvrir/Explorer/A-visiter/Annecy-express