Château de Bourdeau

La Dent du Chat

Panorama

Looking down on the Château de Bourdeau, the Dent du Chat is a lovely little walk to do close to Chambery. From the Dent du Chat television relay station car park, the summit can be reached in less than an hour and a half along a ridge. Cables make progress easier over the last, more difficult, metres. The summit enjoys a terrific panorama and in one glance you can take in Mont Blanc, the Vanoise, the Bauges, Belledonne, the Chartreuse… Moreover, the view over lake le Bourget and the Chambery basin is very impressive in clear weather. Crossing the col opens up the Savoyard hinterland, the town of Yenne and the village of St Jean de Chevelu with its two lakes.

History

Legend has it that one day a fisherman, waiting in vain in his boat for a bite, vowed to release the fish if he managed to catch one in the hope of being rewarded for his generous gesture. Providence heard him and he got a bite. He was so happy after hours of waiting that he forgot his vow and didn’t release the fish, kept it and recast his line. He then got another bite, but it was so big it almost capsized his boat. He pulled out a little kitten. He went home with the kitten in his pocket. Over the years it grew into a beautiful adult cat. One fine day, it left the fisherman’s house and climbed into the mountains, where it settled on a rocky peak, now the Dent du Chat, from where it began to terrorise travellers crossing the col. In the end, it was the companions of King Arthur, Bérius and Mélianus, who rid the country of the horrible cat by piercing it with several arrows, having trapped it by luring it with a lamb. As a reward, the king offered Bérius a field (Field Bérius : Chambéry) and Mélianus a mountain (Mount Mélianus : Montmélian). A single one of its teeth remained up there, the Dent du Chat (the cat’s tooth).

The story of the great fire of 1813 was told by Alexander Dumas, who was staying in Aix-les-Bains at the time. For three days, the spectacular fire ravaged the mountainside. It appeared to have been caused by a camp fire lit by some careless walkers which was not fully put out. The guilty parties were denounced and arrested by the Royal Carabineers and sentenced to a substantial fine.

 

Source : Wikipedia

Informations

Le restaurant sera fermé à partir du 15 octobre pour travaux.
Réouverture prévue au printemps 2021

Château de Bourdeau

La Dent du Chat

Panorama

Surplombant le Château de Bourdeau, la Dent du Chat est une belle petite randonnée à faire près de Chambéry. Depuis le parking du relais TDF de la Dent du Chat, on atteint le sommet en moins d’une heure et demie par une crête. Des câbles facilitent la progression sur les derniers mètres plus difficiles. Ce sommet jouit d’un formidable panorama, on embrasse d’un seul coup d’œil : le Mont Blanc, la Vanoise, les Bauges, Belledonne, la Chartreuse… La vue sur le lac du Bourget et le bassin chambérien est par ailleurs très impressionnante par temps clair. Le franchissement du col débouche sur l’avant-Pays savoyard et la commune de Yenne et sur celle de St Jean de Chevelu, avec ses deux lacs.

Histoire

La légende veut qu’un jour, un pêcheur attendant en vain une prise dans sa barque, fit le vœu de relâcher le poisson à l’eau s’il arrivait à en pêcher un, dans l’espoir d’être récompensé pour son geste généreux. Entendu par la Providence, il fit enfin une prise, et trop content après tant d’heures d’attentes, oublia son vœu et ne relâcha pas le poisson, le garda et relança sa ligne. Il eut alors une nouvelle prise, mais tellement importante que sa barque faillit chavirer. Il en ressortit de l’eau un petit chaton. Il rentra chez lui, le chaton dans sa poche. Au fil des années, celui-ci grandit, finit par devenir un beau chat adulte. Un beau jour, il quitta la maison du pêcheur et grimpa dans la montagne, où il s’installa sur un piton rocheux, l’actuelle Dent du Chat, d’où il entreprit de terroriser les voyageurs franchissant le col. Ce furent finalement les compagnons du roi Arthur, Bérius et Mélianus qui débarrassèrent la contrée de l’horrible chat, en le transperçant de plusieurs flèches après lui avoir tendu un piège en l’appâtant avec un agneau. Le roi offrit, en récompense, un champ à Bérius (champ Bérius : Chambéry) et un mont à Mélianus (Mont Mélianus : Montmélian). Finalement, une seule de ses canines resta là-haut, celle de la Dent du Chat.

Le grand incendie de 1813 a été raconté par Alexandre Dumas, alors en villégiature à Aix-les-Bains. Pendant trois jours, l’incendie spectaculaire a ravagé la montagne. Il serait dû à un feu de camp allumé par des randonneurs imprudents et mal éteint. Les coupables dénoncés et arrêtés par les carabiniers royaux furent condamnés à une importante amende.

 

Source : Wikipedia